4th Annual Regenerative Medicine Symposium

On March 12, the Center of Regenerative Medicine hosted the 4th Annual Regenerative Medicine Symposium. We kicked things off with a poster session, followed by talks from our current Phil and Sima Needleman Fellows in Regenerative Medicine. The program concluded with a keynote lecture from Arturo Alvarez-Buylla (UCSF) on neurogenesis in adult mammals. Fellows, their […]

4th Annual Regenerative Medicine Symposium

Join us for the 4th Annual Regenerative Medicine Symposium, featuring posters, Needleman Graduate Fellow talks, and a keynote lecture from Arturo Alvarez Buylla.

Samantha Morris wins 2019 Innovator Award (Links to an external site)

Samantha Morris, Assistant Professor of Genetics and of Developmental Biology, was awarded a 2019 Innovator Award from the Academy of Science in St. Louis. The Innovator Award recognizes a scientist or engineer – age 40 or under – who has demonstrated exceptional potential for future accomplishments in science, engineering or technology. Congratulations to Dr. Morris!

Teitelbaum awarded King Faisal International Prize in Medicine (Links to an external site)

Dr. Steven Teitelbaum, the Wilma and Roswell Messing Professor of Pathology and Immunology and member of the Center of Regenerative Medicine, has been awarded the 2019 King Faisal International Prize in Medicine for his foundational research towards understanding how bones are built and broken down. Congratulations Dr. Teitelbaum!

Regis O’Keefe wins Shands Award from ORS

Regis O’Keefe MD, PhD  (Professor and Head of Orthopedic Surgery) was honored with the Alfred R. Shands, Jr, MD Award at the 2019 meeting of the Orthopedic Research Society. This award is presented to a United States or Canadian citizen who has made significant contributions to orthopaedics. This award recognizes the devotion of a significant […]

Save the date for the 4th regenerative medicine symposium

The 4th Annual Regenerative Medicine Symposium will take place on March 12, 2019, 1-5pm in EPNEC. We’ll start things off with a poster session, followed by Needleman Graduate Fellow presentations, and end with a keynote from Arturo Alavarez-Buylla.

CRM celebrates faculty accomplishments

On January 9th, the Center of Regenerative Medicine celebrated the successes of some of our faculty members. Promotion to associate professor with tenure (Grant Challen, Medicine; Spencer Lake, Mechanical Engineering; Andrew Yoo, Developmental Biology), promotion to full professor (Indira Mysorekar, Ob/Gyn), fellowship in the AAAS (Lila Solnica-Krezel, Developmental Biology and Deborah Rubin, Medicine), and installation […]

New protocol leads to better stem cell-derived pancreatic B-cells (Links to an external site)

Researchers in the Millman Lab have improved upon their previous protocol to generate pancreatic beta cells from human stem cells that more closely resemble authentic beta cells. Ultimately, scientists, like Millman, hope to use these cells as a cellular transplant to cure diabetes. Velazco-Cruz L, Song J, Maxwell KG, Goedegebuure MM, Augsornworawat P, Hogrebe NJ, […]

Gene therapy study has implications for nerve degeneration (Links to an external site)

Aaron DiAntonio and Jeff Milbrant recently demonstrated the power of blocking the SARM1 pathway for preventing nerve degeneration. Building on previous work, they used adeno-associated virus to deliver a dominant-negative form of the SARM1 protein to mice. When axons in these mice were injured, they were resistant to degeneration. These studies have implications for many […]

Join a CRM-Sponsored Research Forum in 2019!

Make your 2019 resolution to participate in a CRM-sponsored research forum. Topics and formats to fit a wide variety of interests. Contact organizing faculty members directly to be added to their email lists.

Ornitz Lab wins FASEB BioArt Competition (Again!) (Links to an external site)

Lu Yang (PhD student), Sung-Ho Huh (former postdoc), and David Ornitz (PI) are among the winners of the 2018 FASEB BioArt competition for their stunning image of the olfactory epithelium within the mouse nasal cavity. The Ornitz Lab also won in 2017 for their X-ray microscopy study showing blood flow in the lungs. Congrats!

Rubin and Solnica-Krezel elected to AAAS (Links to an external site)

CRM member, Dr. Deborah Rubin (Medicine, Gastroenterology), and co-director, Lila Solnica-Krezel (Developmental Biology), were among 11 WUSTL faculty elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Congrats Lila and Debbie!

Needleman Fellows in Regenerative Medicine Awarded to 4 Students

Congratulations to Lara Pferdehirt (Guilak Lab), Ali Ross (Guilak Lab), Yiran Hou (Wang Lab), and Ashraf Kabir (Choi Lab) on being named Philip and Sima Needleman Graduate Fellows in Regenerative Medicine! These awards are made possible though the generous support of Dr. and Mrs. Needleman. Megan Radyk (Mills Lab) and Bisi Fashemi (Mysorekar Lab) had […]

Seed Grant RFA (Links to an external site)

We are now accepting applications for the 2019 CRM Regenerative Medicine Seed Grant Program. Applications are due November 9, 2018 and questions can be directed to Angela Bowman

Mat Victor awarded HHMI Hanna Gray Fellowship (Links to an external site)

Mat Victor, a former PhD student with Andrew Yoo, was awarded a prestigious 2018 Hanna Gray Fellowship from HHMI. This fellowship provides support and mentoring during his postdoc and further support as he transitions to an independent faculty position. Read more about Mat’s research’s and his fond memories of WashU. Congrats Mat!

Jeffrey Millman awarded US patent for stem-cell derived B-cells (Links to an external site)

Center of Regenerative Medicine faculty member, Dr. Jeffrey Millman, was awarded a US patent for methods to derive pancreatic B-cells from pluripotent stem cells. Millman, who is an Assistant Professor in the Division of Endocrinology, was involved in this work while a postdoc with Douglas Melton at Harvard University, and it continues to be the […]

Spencer Lake awarded the Y.C. Fung Early Career Award from ASME (Links to an external site)

Spencer Lake, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science, has been awarded the Y.C. Fung Early Career Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the highest award for young investigators in bioengineering. Lake was chosen for his pioneering work in musculoskeletal biomechanics and mechanobiology. He received the award, which recognizes an individual […]